Resources for Writers

Resources for Writers

Style and Writing Guides

Chicago Manual of Style
AP Stylebook and Briefing of Media Law
Gregg Reference Manual: A Manual of Style, Grammar, Usage, and Formatting
The Elements of Style, 4th ed., by William Strunk and E.B. White
The Sense of Style, by Steven Pinker

Finding Agents and Publishers

Agent Query (www.agentquery.com)
Jane Friedman (www.janefriedman.com) and her book Publishing 101
Literary Marketplace (www.literarymarketplace.com)
QueryTracker (www.querytracker.com)
Writers Digest (www.writersdigest.com)
Writers Market (www.writersmarket.com)

Finding Vendors

Editorial Freelancers Association (www.the-efa.com)
Northwest Independent Editors Guild (www.edsguild.org)

Other Recommended Sources

Deltina Hay (www.deltinau.com)
Independent Book Publishers Association (www.ibpa-online.org)
Joel Friedlander (www.thebookdesigner.com)
Penny Sansevieri (www.amarketingexpert.com)
Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, particularly the Writer Beware blog (www.sfwa.org)
The POP Newsletter (www.thepopnewsletter.com)
The Permissions Group (www.permissionsgroup.com)
Share by: